Green Motion United Kingdom Reviews

Show reviews that mention
green motion car motion damage airport credit card card money car rental hire
Filter review
New Reviewer
Explore video interviews
Green Motion United Kingdom - These guys are con artists-please just go elsewhere!
Green Motion United Kingdom - These guys are con artists-please just go elsewhere!
Green Motion United Kingdom - These guys are con artists-please just go elsewhere!
Update by user Jul 12, 2018

I eventually got in contact with Green Motion International and escalated my concerns to the senior customer service team. While my experience up until this point had been utterly exhausting and frustrating, as soon as I was dealing with HQ they acted swiftly to...

View full review
View full review
6 comments
#1756178

This is the e mail of the owner of this sting operation of a company richardlowden@***.com

View more comments
Resolved Featured
ID
#1174603 Review #1174603 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Green Motion Car Rental
Cons
  • Complaints proceedure
  • Service
  • Staff
Reason of review
Everything
Loss
$850
Undoubtedly The Worst Car Rental Experience Imaginable I booked a car from our flight from London to Glasgow via booking.com. I got an email from a company Green Motion that required a mass of documentation, almost like filling in a mortgage application, that you had...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2595638 Review #2595638 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hayes, England

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Ripped off because of a parking ticket

Update by user Nov 06, 2020

Because I paid 84 pounds for administration fee for a 30 pounds ticket, I have appealed for unfair terms&cons.No response yet, in few weeks I will contact the Ombudsman.

Original review posted by user Oct 07, 2020
I got a parking fine while I was hiring from Stansted GreenMotion. What did they do? 1) they took 84 pounds from my credit card for administration fee without letting me know, I found out by checking the card statements; 2) it took one month of phone calls and emails in order to obtain from them the PCN to run my checks; 3) they charged VAT costs and it took several emails to obtain the VAT invoice from them. Avoid, avoid, avoid that Stansted branch!!!!!

User's recommendation: do not rent from them.

View full review
ID
#2213023 Review #2213023 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Green Motion Car Rental
Cons
  • High hidden fees
Loss
$84
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

Scammers

Green Motion United Kingdom - Scammers
Scammers. Tried to charge me for damage which was already noted on the contract. Re-created a new contract (notice no signature on the sign out by customer). FRAUDSTERS

User's recommendation: Stay away from fraudsters.

View full review
ID
#2132587 Review #2132587 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Green Motion United Kingdom Car Rental
Preferred solution
Apology

Falsely accused of scratching a car

Green Motion United Kingdom - Falsely accused of scratching a car
I was falsely accused of causing a scratch on the car when I returned the vehicle. The scratch was hardly noticeable until you go really close to the vehicle. They charged me £640 for the small scratch! It was triple the amount to fix the scratch. Please avoid at all cost!

User's recommendation: Please avoid at all cost!!!

View full review
ID
#2102902 Review #2102902 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Birmingham, England

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

RIPPED OFF BY EXTORTIONATE REPAIR CHARGES FOR ALLEGED DAMAGE

Green Motion United Kingdom - RIPPED OFF BY EXTORTIONATE REPAIR CHARGES FOR ALLEGED DAMAGE
Green Motion United Kingdom - RIPPED OFF BY EXTORTIONATE REPAIR CHARGES FOR ALLEGED DAMAGE
Green Motion United Kingdom - RIPPED OFF BY EXTORTIONATE REPAIR CHARGES FOR ALLEGED DAMAGE
In January of this year I hired a car from Green Motion's branch at Manchester Airport for a short three day period. When I collected the car the rep pointed out a scrape on one of the alloy wheels and when I checked around the car quickly I didn't notice any other damage so accepted it as it was and made the first mistake of not taking photographic evidence of every panel of the car in fine detail. I have hired cars quite a few times over the years and found it unnecessary to record anything other than existing visible damage. I then made the second mistake of not going around with a fine toothcomb to find every miniscule blemish on the car but as I thought I'd looked it over pretty well I believed there was nothing more to do. How wrong I was. When I returned the car another rep inspected it and drew my attention to a miniscule windscreen chip close to the nearside pillar and well outside the swept area of the screen and a small depression near the edge of the roof, just behind the B-pillar, so small I could barely see it even close up. I protested at the time that there was no way either of these occurred while the vehicle was in my charge and was told not to worry about it but put my belief in writing anyway. A few days later I was shocked to receive an invoice for £1205, being the standard excess, and a copy of their damage matrix which I immediately challenged. Having been in the motor trade and industry for 50 years I have a good knowledge of repair methods and costs and knew that the dent could be repaired for well under £100. Another invoice followed with an estimate from their "approved repairer" which reduced the charge to just over £760, still about ten times the true cost of repair. Due to the fact that I had no proof that the damage did not occur while I had the car (a mistake I won't make again) I accepted that I would have to pay and offered to have the repair carried out by a qualified and reputable specialist at my expense and their convenience but this was turned down flat. I offered to pay a realistic amount of £100, providing quotations and credentials from the specialists but this too was turned down. I escalated my concerns to the local, then national, customer service departments with no joy, then took my concerns to the industry's dispute resolution service who, despite having guidelines on types of repair which supported my claims, said that they couldn't rule in my favour because they "are unable to discuss the repair costs and as Green Motion are entitled to choose their repairing garage as the owner of the vehicle, the BVRLA does not dispute the repair charges". So I am stuck with being cheated out of £760 for damage which I know I am not responsible for and can't afford to take legal action against them. Shortly after this, and unaware that it was the same company, my wife also hired a car from a different branch of Green Motion and had issues with them which were fortunately resolved but not without threatening action. This company systematically cheat their customers with overpriced repairs and other charges to the extent that ALL specialist insurance companies providing car hire excess cover exclude rentals from Green Motion but cover hiring from ALL other UK companies. What does this tell you?

User's recommendation: DON'T HIRE FROM GREEN MOTION - A BUNCH OF CHEATING RIP-OFF AGENTS.

View full review
ID
#1973284 Review #1973284 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Manchester, England
Service
Green Motion United Kingdom Car Rental
Pros
  • Budget rates on the surface
  • Car ok
Cons
  • Scam artists
  • Car hire excess insurance companies exclude greenmotion
  • Suspicious activity
Loss
$963
Preferred solution
Full refund

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

HIRED A VAN FROM THESE GUYS AND HAVE BEEN BILLED £2500 FOR DAMAGES THAT I HAVE NOT CAUSED
View full review
ID
#1812542 Review #1812542 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Balham, England
Service
Green Motion Car Rental

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

AVOID AT ALL COSTS! SCAM COMPANY!

On 2/12/2020 I went online Hotwire.com and booked a rental car for 3 days from 2/17/2020 to 2/20/2020 (attachment #1) in London England. I paid for this with my Capital 1 card ending in 6947. (Attachment #2). We arrived in London around 2pm and found that ACE is not a car agency but subs to a company called GreenMotion which is located off the terminal area. Since this reservation was non refundable I was locked into find them and renting the car. We waited for an hour before the shuttle finally came and took us to the rental car location at a Holiday Inn. It was very different than any other rental because when I waived the insurance as the VISA credit card I use has rental car insurance built in as a service. They wanted me to let them take a deposit which I agreed to (Attachment #3) on my Bank of America Card ending 5356. As we went to pickup the car there were several scratches and dents that werent noted on the vehicle condition report form. When I asked the attendant to please make note of them he said I should just take pictures of them and that would suffice. So I did Attachments 6-12. On the night of the 19th, the night before we were to return the car and catch our flight home on the 20th, I stopped by the rental car place to make sure I knew where it was and I asked then what time there would be someone there to receive the car. I was told 7am. On the 20th we drive to the rental car return at 7am and there wasnt anyone to receive and sign off the car. I did take the time to take pictures of the car as it was returned. They are attached #13-17 On Feb 24th, 2020 I received the email with damages that were there before the rental, and look like they could be buffed out. I went on line and found a review site that shows they make a practice of ripping off their customers. I have attached a few for your amusement. I don feel these are legitimate charges and dont think they should be paid. I have asked them for much more information but they dont respond as they have the money already. https://www.yelp.com/biz/green-motion-london-heathrow-airport-middlesex-3
View full review
ID
#1812141 Review #1812141 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
West Drayton, England
Service
Green Motion United Kingdom Car Rental
Pros
  • Front office was friendly
  • Low rental rate
Cons
  • Told different things but different members of staff
  • Rip off approach
  • Never use
Loss
$1700
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Avoid Green Motion and avoid prepaid booking with GM associated firms

See the following message that I sent to CarRentals.com (a Booking.com company name) about my experience with Green Motion (Manchester Airport) car hire's bait-and-switch tactics in failing to provide my prepaid rental and failed attempt to force me to purchase comprehensive vehicle insurance. Hello, I am writing to inform you (a) of a failed booking (car hire) yesterday (January 31, 2020) due to actions of Green Motion (Manchester Airport) staff; and (b) that I am pursuing full reimbursement of my prepaid amount (224.95 GBP) for this failed booking/car hire. I have attached documents to help you understand the circumstances of this failed booking/car hire. For a more complete description, please see the attached file named "MyFeb1_2020complaint&desiredresolution... that I submitted today (Feb. 1, 2020)to Green Motion via their online complaint/resolution system. In early Jan. 2020, I booked online via RentalCars.com a 28-day pre-paid car hire with Green Motion (see attached document w/ RentalCars.com booking reference # 711 90* 708; also see confirmation e-mail dated Jan. 7, 2020).Please also see all Green Motions Terms and Conditions in the License Requirements section of the attached file named "Misleading Wording See License Requirements Re Word HELD. Yesterday, after having traveled from my home in Middlesmoor to Manchester Airport via Leeds to pick up my prepaid car hire at Green Motion, the staff at Green Motion failed to provide me the car after (a) first having stated that my driving license did not meet their requirements and, thus, they would not release the car to me; then (b) shifting their initial position to state that they would release the hire car to me only if I would purchase comprehensive insurance, that is, pay approximately 500 GBP above and beyond the full prepayment amount I had already paid. Recognizing this as a classic bait-and-switch attempt to get customers (in this case me) to purchase comprehensive insurance, I departed Green Motions Manchester office without the car. As a result of my experiences yesterday (Jan. 31) with Green Motion Manchester, yesterday after returning home, having not gotten my prepaid hire car and having incurred costs for train and bus transport, as well as having to have booked a hire car at a walk-up rate with Avis/Budget, I cancelled three additional 28-day bookings that I had made in early January via RentalCars.com for car hires with Green Motion. I immediately received confirmation e-mails from RentalCars.com verifying the three cancellations (reference numbers, respectively, 69719****, 67815****, and 69655****) and that my credit card payments for those three bookings would be processed within 7 working days, so I thank you (i.e., RentalCars.com). What remains now is for me to recover my 224.95 GBP cost (booking # 711 90* 708) for having prepaid for the Jan.31 thru Feb. 28 car hire that Green Motion failed to provide as I am 99% sure that Green Motion will attempt to keep the money. I am notifying you (RentalCars.com) as I used your service to book this hire car. I also will notify my credit card provider of this matter in order to dispute the charge. Finally, a lesson learned = if a car hire price looks to good to be true, it probably is a ruse. I perused the web yesterday using the term Green Motion complaints and found loads of complaints, as well as newspaper articles that described problems with Green Motion. The problems fell mostly into two categories exorbitant charges for questionable damage to hire cars, and high pressure/bait-and-switch tactics by Green Motion to have customers purchase (unnecessary) insurance. I also found information that reported that some booking online companies had dropped Green Motion from their booking services due to excessive complaints by customers and shady practices by Green Motion. Im left to wonder what percentage of Green Motions revenues are comprised of charging (or attempting to charge) customers for prepaid car hires that Green Motion subsequently fails to honor. Does RentalCars.com keep and act on data such as the volume, nature, and patterns of customer complaints it receives about Green Motion?
View full review
ID
#1784750 Review #1784750 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Manchester, England
Service
Green Motion United Kingdom Car Rental Booking
Pros
  • Close to airport
Cons
  • Didnt get my deposit back
  • Car rental scam
  • Being conned
Loss
$225
Preferred solution
Full refund

Do not go here, check the reviews

I booked for 8 days. Arrived 545-6pm to get the car and was told everything is ok check the car the following day when it's brighter. (Don't do this; always check the car first). On return apparentlyT there was a scratch which I know for a fact is not worth £842 to fix.Sae
View full review
ID
#1781866 Review #1781866 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sheung Wan, Central And Western District
Service
Green Motion Car Rental

Don't be fooled by cheap quotes

Green Motion United Kingdom - Don't be fooled by cheap quotes
Green Motion United Kingdom - Don't be fooled by cheap quotes
Green Motion United Kingdom - Don't be fooled by cheap quotes
Picked up the car which was filthy and already had lots of damage. Drove down a motorway and back again. The car had no opportunity to receive damage unless a crashed it, which I didn't. When I returned the car, the inspector wiped away a layer of dirt and found a hair line scratch. You could tell he knew where he was going to look. They charged me over 400 GBP for something that could be polished out with spit and a tissue!
View full review
ID
#1775680 Review #1775680 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sharjah, Ash Shariqah
Service
Green Motion United Kingdom Car Rental
New Reviewer

Charge

Been charged unfairly and nobody called me back I email James to call me last week?
View full review
ID
#1756990 Review #1756990 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
London, England
Service
Green Motion Car Rental

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Charged £1400 for light dent that they didnt even assess or repair

Green Motion United Kingdom - Charged £1400 for light dent that they didnt even assess or repair
Green Motion United Kingdom - Charged £1400 for light dent that they didnt even assess or repair
Green Motion United Kingdom - Charged £1400 for light dent that they didnt even assess or repair
Green Motion United Kingdom - Charged £1400 for light dent that they didnt even assess or repair
Returned hire car 06 Dec. Car had a very light dent on the hatch that is barely visible. Green Motion charged me £1400. When I complained they admitted they had not even assessed or had the repair carried out. Since then they wont reply to my emails, so I have started a complaint with Trading Standards UK. (https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/consumer/get-more-help/report-to-trading-standards/)
View full review
ID
#1753738 Review #1753738 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Green Motion Car Rental
Cons
  • Way they steal money from people
  • Unfair charges
  • Lack of communication
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy
Loss
$1400
Preferred solution
Full refund

Dont use them

In my case I paid for a vehicle. Arrived, the vehicle required (long wheel base van) wasn't even in the parking complex. When I inquired the manager refused me the service because I had a specific 6 point driving offense. I offered to alter the agreement for a friend to drive with a clean license. They declined and told me to call customer services for a refund. Customer services refused to refund me explaining that those are their rules and I should have called customer services before making the agreement to check despite the fact there does not appear to be any information relating to the fact that certain endorsements mean drivers are not permitted to use their services. The website only explains there is a DVLA check which one assumes is to check whether your license is valid or you have been banned. I imagine a small percentage of people are refused for not having a credit card or other various infringements and instead of being refunded their payment when services are declined by the company the money like my own is simply stolen. I predict some legal action in my future. Would be nice to force them to pay back all the money they have stolen to date and force them to pay compensation for the victims of their bad business practices.
View full review
ID
#1737649 Review #1737649 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
High Wycombe, England
Service
Green Motion Car Rental Booking

DON'T DO IT!!

DON'T USE THIS COMPANY.. JUST GOOGLE GREEN MOTION REVIEWS AND YOU WILL SEE THE PRESS HAVE WRITTEN MULTIPLE ARTICLES ON THEM - THERE WAS ALSO A DOCUMENTRY ON BBC REGARDING THEIR WAY OF WORKING...I WISH I HAD READ REVIEWS FIRST So, my experience started by finding their "cheap car rental" through a company called CarJet. I made the reservation for a Volkeswagon polo (or like for like) on their website. I decided also to take the additional insurance which is provided through Zurich Insurers - just in case the unlikely event of anything happening. So, i arrived at thier Gatwick branch to pick up my rental car. I arrived at 8.30 in the morning and was advised by one of the guys handeling the reservation that in fact they do not have any "small" cars available and the earliest time would be at 5pm that evening when one would be returned. I was very shocked and insisted to the guy that the reason i booked through "green motion" was due to the competitive prices. He informed me that unless i wanted to wait until 5pm, i had no option but to "upgrade" to a larger car. The first offer that he tried to push on me was for an upgrade to a Jaguar!!! After some arguments, he told me he could provide a "good deal" on a Mercedes C Class .. This "Good deal" cost me an additional 70GBP!!!! I had no option but to take this as i was due to be at a meeting at 11am... Then came the hard sales for the insurance .. I explained that i had already taken the extra insurance when i booked the car through CarJet.. He then went on to inform me that this insurance through Zurich is not recognised by green motion .. He was insisting i pay an addition 20GBP a day for the insurance which i declined since i already had this insurance ... He then informed me that he would block an additional 2,505GBP on my credit card as a security deposit... I found this shocking that first i had taken an extra insurance and secondly that they can take so much money for security deposit .. I hire often through Avis and Sixt and never heard of such a huge amount of money for a deposit He then informed me that there was no one available to do an inspection of the car with me and that i should just sign the paperwork as the company is very "honest" ... I did not take him up on this offer and decided to wait for someone to check the car with me ... Finally, someone arrived.. He became very aggitated when i insisted on checking the car carefully and kept insisting that the car had a lot of small damage which was all logged on the paperwork ... So, during the 30 minutes check we made of the car, i actually identified some small marks and a small tear in the outer rim of the front drivers side tyre .. Again,the guy insisted that it is not possible to log every tiny mark as the "damage information" section on the paperwork for this car is already full! ... So, he explained by showing me the paperwork that there were additional "numbers" marked for damage on the picture of the car on the paperwork, but the description was not added ... I insisted that i wanted these additional small damages i found marked on the paperwork, just to be sure of no issue when returning the car. I also made sure to take pictures of all of this additional damage I returned the car to the gatwick office as arranged. On arriving, one of the staff was very keen to personally check the car over for damage... Clearly, they are far more interested when you return the car than when you pick the car up! ... He brought a torch with him, although it was daylight. The guy went straight away to the front drivers side of the car. Straight away he pointed the torch on a tiny mark on the drivers door - marking this as a new damage! .. I was shocked that he was able to go directly to this point, passing the back of the car first which had significant marks (which were recorded) .. I explained that there had been no incident with the car but was ignored. He then stuck a pen in the small tear in the outer of the tyre, pulling it open with his pen. He then marked this on the paper. I explained to him that this, plus additional small damage was already there and showed him the copy of the check.out form. He then told me that this was not the same info he had on his form and infact the guy who had done this check out had only marked the damage on my copy of the paperwork!! roll forward 1 day and suddenly i have a charge on my credit card for over 1200GBP for damage caused! Lucky for my i took plenty of photos of the car before leaving, so i was able to prove i was not responsible for the damage
View full review
ID
#1720803 Review #1720803 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Vevey, Vaud
Service
Green Motion Car Rental

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Dont fall for their cheap rental prices.

Green Motion United Kingdom - Dont fall for their cheap rental prices.
London Stanstead Greenmotion. Car on return was inspected, the inspector went straight to a tiny mark on the front plastic wheel cover (see photo)... I couldnt even see the mark until I got right up close. Theres no way it could have been done whilst I had the vehicle (honest). The pre-inspection is not detailed and is customer lead process, however the post return inspection is very detailed and lead by the inspector.... I believe the inspector knew about the damaged wheel cover, he went straight to it. Since I was being asked to pay over £100 for the wheel cover, I asked if I could take it with me.... answer was "no". I made a complaint to their head office, I had to chase up for a response and when it came it was a standard email, didnt answer my direct question regarding the different behavior of their employee on pickup and drop off inspections. Dont use Greenmotion, the prices are very attractive but they are making money on you or your insurance company by you not finding defects on pickup, they get you when you return the vehicle....... Can anyone see the damaged wheel cover on the photo? I hope AXA insurance are getting wise to this kind of behavior and checking for multiple claims.
View full review
ID
#1712185 Review #1712185 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bishop's Stortford, England
Service
Green Motion Car Rental
Pros
  • Low rental prices
Cons
  • Inconsistent inspection processes
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Re establish clear and consistent pickup and drop off inspections, Greenmotion should highlight to the customer what damages they are aware of, then proceed to check to vehicle with the customer.

Brands Related to Green Motion United Kingdom

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article